Friday, November 4, 2022

Hemp milk


     So, what milk can you drink if you're allergic to dairy, soy, wheat and every kind of nut? Rice milk comes to mind, but you have to be careful. The manufacturing process often involves barley malt which is not listed as an ingredient. If the package doesn't claim it's gluten-free, it probably contains traces of barley. My wheat-allergic grandkid used to cough and wheeze when he drank Rice Dream rice milk (until we wised up). Similarly, oat milk may contain some wheat (oats and wheat are sometimes rotated in the field), so make sure the label specifies it is gluten-free. Another option is hemp milk. 

     Unfortunately, all the commercial hemp milk I have found comes in paperboard packaging and I worry what the waxy coating on it was made from (corn? soy?). Well, I finally got around to making hemp milk myself...and felt really silly when I realized how easy it is to make the stuff at home. Like most foods, it's cheaper and tastes fresher if you make it yourself.

      I have tried presoaking the hemp seeds and can't see that it makes any difference at all. Don't bother with that.

     1 c. hulled hemp seeds (hemp hearts)
     1/4 tsp. salt (See Salt in the Glossary)
     (optional) 1 Tb. sugar, or to taste (See Sugar in the Glossary)
     (optional) 1 tsp. corn-free vanilla extract

     Put the hemp seeds, salt, sugar, vanilla and 1 c. of the water in a good blender and blend thoroughly, for at least two full minutes. Blend in the rest of the water. Strain through a fine mesh if you're worried about any tiny hemp bits. Store in refrigerator. Shake before using.

No comments:

Post a Comment